Trump rejects criticism of his proposal to ban Muslims

Image result for muslims v. donald trump

Trump rejects criticism of his proposal to ban Muslims

By Jill Colvin and Bruce Smith, Associated Press

 

This week I have chosen to read the article Trump Rejects Criticism of His Proposal to Ban Muslims. Donald Trump is the republican candidate. As you may know There have been several terrorist attacks around the world where the attackers are muslim (people who follow the Islamic religion.) Trump’s plan to stop these terrorist attacks is keep all muslims out of our country altogether. Many people believe that this is both a horrible, immoral idea that should not be carried out. “British leader David Cameron said it was “quite simply wrong.” Not only does the common person see how bad of an idea this is, so do many political leaders such as David Cameron. This is an example of ethos because it’s a political leader telling you what they think about this idea, and I couldn’t agree more. Not only does David Cameron believe in this idea, but neither do other republicans. “Some Republican candidates criticized Trump’s idea. Jeb Bush said Trump’s “proposals are not serious.” Ted Cruz said, “That is not my policy.” When multiple important political leaders say no to an idea, maybe you should start questioning it. Trump thinks that his plan is fair and that it’s the best solution, but I think that we can think of something far better. Sure we need to stop these attacks, but we can’t deny someone’s right because of their religion.

Although the author doesn’t use much extreme and absolute language, this article is obviously perspicacious. “Volpp explained that the U.S. has never stopped people from a religion.” This was the only section that I could find using an extreme word (never),Image result for japanese american camps but that never meant the article didn’t show the writer’s opinion. The author wrote about how wrong this was and how no one agreed with it. What about the people who do agree? Of course that would be horrible because these are people too and they shouldn’t be punished for practicing a religion, but there are of course people who think that this is an amazing idea.”Trump defended his plan. He compared his plan to one during World War II. In 1942, President Franklin Roosevelt put many Japanese-Americans in a type of prison camp. They had less freedom and rights at the camp.” Trump said he was like a man who put people in camps that some have compared to a slightly less extreme Nazi camp. Sure Rosevelt had some good points in his presidency, but this certainly was not one of them. Envisage how bad this was and then think about how it would look today. Sure we’re just not going to let people in, but thats still infringing on people’s rights.

I decided to write about this because being the daughter of a teacher I have a lot to say about Donald Trump.  Where my Dad is a republican and my Mom is a democrat I tend to side with my mom and now more than ever. I probably shouldn’t write what she says about him (they’re not inappropriate, just not very nice.) This is one of the many reasons I don’t want Trump to be our president, he’s basically going to pull us back into the 60s where we were all had the aspects of racist, sexist people. In retrospect I am also a very biased person, but this is my opinion you can have yours. I hope that after reading this you have an epiphany of what I’m trying to say and understand where I’m coming from. If you agree with Trump I obviously don’t, but I hope you know that I respect your opinion and like most I don’t love Hillary either. I just think that I’d prefer the outcome with her than with Trump.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *